Auto insurance provides financial protection in a crash. Understanding the state insurance laws can guide you on the next steps in the event of an accident or claim.
Review the minimum auto insurance laws and other provisions for drivers who live in Indiana.
Required minimum coverage
Indiana drivers must have at least:
- $25,000 in liability coverage per accident for property damage
- $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury liability
- $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage
The state also requires $25,000 per accident in uninsured motorist property damage and $50,000 per person and per accident for underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage. However, drivers can choose to opt out of these policies in writing.
Indiana is a fault state when it comes to auto insurance. Under these laws, a driver who suffers injuries and property damage can file a claim with his or her own insurance company or the at-fault driver’s insurance company. The injured person can also sue the responsible driver for compensation.
The driver who decides to sue only has two years to do so after the date of the accident. For a successful case, he or she must gather full documentation about the accident and the resulting medical expenses, including details about treatments, travel for medical care, lost wages and loss of bodily function. The court will also review the accident report, photos and videos of the crash site, and testimony from witnesses if applicable.